Members’ Information

July Music Session

Come along and join us on Saturday 10th July at the Cornbow Hall in Halesowen for our first face-to-face Music Session of 2021, easing us back into playing as an orchestra in a relaxed and friendly environment. This event will follow the same pattern as a ‘play-day’ where we come together with Chris for a few hours to work on a single orchestral piece with a view to playing it to a good standard by the end of the day.

During the afternoon, we will be looking at Mozart’s Symphony No. 31, also known as the ‘Paris’ symphony, written in 1778 when the composer was only 22, and thought to be the first one that he published. There are parts for all the instruments in our orchestra so we should be able to look forward to an enjoyable afternoon with Chris, our conductor, making music together again. We aim to be in our seats and ready to play at 2.00pm, finishing at around 4.30pm. We’ll have a break half way through, but please bring your own refreshments.

We hope that this event will feel as close as possible to our meetings before the start of the pandemic. It is, however, important to remember that we are not yet out of the woods as far as Covid is concerned and the government has yet to confirm the relaxation of the current restrictions. For this reason, there may be social distancing and sanitisation measures in place during the afternoon. We will give details of these nearer the time, but they may include staggered start times, so please allow for the possibility of arriving at 1.30pm, should this be necessary. We may even be obliged to restrict the number of people attending if the planned end to lockdown on June 21st is delayed.

If you would like to take part, please get in touch with the orchestra secretary on

Autumn term 2021

First rehearsal:  Monday 6th September 2021
Half term (no rehearsal): Monday 25th October 2021
Concert: Saturday 11th December 2021
Christmas social: Monday 13th December 2021

Mozart ‘Clemenza di Tito’ overture
Tchaikovsky Violin concerto
Faure ‘Pavanne’
Haydn Symphony No. 104 ‘London’